Locking Accounts

To Share and +4 nLEARNs

Removing all full access keys from an account will effectively lock it.

When an account is locked nobody can perform transactions in the account’s name (e.g. update the code or transfer money).

How to Lock an Account

near keys <dev-account>
# result: [access_key: {"nonce": ..., "public_key": '<key>'}]

near delete-key <dev-account> '<key>'

Why Locking an Account

Locking an account brings more reassurance to end-users, since they know no external actor will be able to manipulate the account’s
contract or balance.

::tip Upgrading Locked Contracts
Please do note that, while no external actor can update the contract, the contract can still upgrade itself. See this article for details.

::
Scroll to Top